UCLA Men’s Water Polo Are Once Again Champs, UCLA Gets 113th Title


The UCLA Men’s Water Polo team defeated the USC Trojans in the National Championship, 10-7 to capture their 10th title. It also secures UCLA’s 113th overall.

It was the final game of the water polo season and what a perfect setting to decide a National Champion as the UCLA Men’s Water Polo team once again took on crosstown rival USC. Both the Bruins and Trojans met in last season’s final at USC where UCLA broke the Trojan’s streak of six championships.

Well they were back at, only this time they met at UCLA’s Spieker Aquatic Center and once again the UCLA Bruins are the National Champions! The Men’s water polo team not only obtained their 10th overall championship, but also captured the 113th for the UCLA and their Athletic department.

The game started with an early USC 3-1 lead. Then UCLA’s Ryder Roberts hit two shots in a row to tie the game at the end of the first quarter.

UCLA Bruins
UCLA Bruins /

UCLA Bruins

UCLA then shut out the Trojans in the second whilst getting two more goals from Danny McClintock and Gordon Marshall to go up 5-3 at the break.

Both teams traded goals to start the third but Chancellor Ramirez extended the Bruin’s lead with his own goal just before the end of the third quarter to put UCLA up 7-5.

Before the quarter was over, the Trojans, looking to be in desperation mode, picked up their offensive game as they scored with 25 seconds left to get to within 1 goal as they made it 6-7.

The Bruins then pressured the Trojans with two takeaways to start the 4th, taking USC out of their rhythm. UCLA then scored the next two goals to put the game out of reach midway through the quarter. USC was able to score two more, but wasted two attempts in the final two minutes.

To add insult to injury, Patrick Fellner scored a 10 th goal for UCLA with one second left as the Bruins went up 10-7. That was all she wrote as UCLA are back-to-back NCAA Water Polo Champions!