UCLA Baseball and the Winning Culture: Coach John Savage and Several Players Win Pac-12 Awards


If being the overall #1 seed in the NCAA College World Series was a sign that UCLA Baseball was back, then today’s list of Pac-12 award winners proves that the Bruins will be a good team for a long time. The Bruins and their head coach John Savage were honored with multiple awards after a fantastic 2015 regular season.

Savage, two-years removed from winning UCLA Baseball’s first ever championship, was awarded the Pac-12 Coach of the Year. After going 25-30-1 and missing the post-season in 2014, Savage had the Bruins roaring back this season all the way to the #1 spot, finishing the regular season 42-14.

UCLA Bruins
UCLA Bruins /

UCLA Bruins

The Bruins won the Pac-12 Conference the weekend before last and ended the season three games up on second place Oregon State and finished 22-8.

UCLA pitcher, David Berg was also honored today as he was named Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year. Berg went 7-1 during the season had a conference leading 0.73 ERA and 12 saves. Berg was also part of a combo no-hitter with James Kaprielian on May 15, the first no-hitter in UCLA history.

In addition to these awards, several Bruins made the All-Conference team. Along with Berg, pitcher Grant Dwyer, outfielder Ty Moore, infielder Kevin Kramer, pitcher James Kaprielian and pitcher Grant Watson were named to the All-Pac-12 First Team. Pitcher Griffin Canning, infielder Luke Persico and catcher Darrell Miller, Jr. were All-Pac-12 honorable mentions.

MORE: UCLA Baseball Is The Overall #1 Seed In The College World Series

Needless to say, this is a very good UCLA Baseball team and seeing as they are stacked with talent, they should do very well in the College World Series which begins this Friday, May 29 at Jackie Robinson Stadium for the Los Angeles Regional.

Congratulations and GO BRUINS!